The names of the 12 months that comprise the Islamic year are:

1. Muharram  7. Rajab
2. Safar  8. Sha'ban
3. Rabi' al-awwal (Rabi' I)  9. Ramadan
4. Rabi' al-thani (Rabi' II)  10. Shawwal
5. Jumada al-awwal (Jumada I)  11. Dhu al-Qi'dah
6. Jumada al-thani (Jumada II)  12. Dhu al-Hijjah

Very detailed information about calendar systems is found in the article Frequently Asked Questions about Calendars (off site).

Calender conversions:

Go Back to Main Index